• Frequently Asked Questions Videoslawtoncates.com/media-library/faq-videos Frequently Asked Questions Videos for State of Wisconsin
  • Documentslawtoncates.com/media-library/documents
  • Class Actionlawtoncates.com/media-library/class-action Information on Class Action Lawsuits
  • Your Options After A Final Order Of Removallawtoncates.com/blog/your-options-after-a-final-order-of-removal Published: March 07, 2018 The United States takes immigration violations seriously. Lately, we have seen aggressive enforcement of removal orders by Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE) under president Trump. To be candid, president Trump is only enforcing the laws that are already on the books. Other than rearranging/altering president Obama’s enforcement priorities, president Trump is not doing anything new.
  • Your Home And The Law: Part Iiilawtoncates.com/blog/your-home-and-the-law-part-iii In this installment of your home and the law, I will explore several situations where a homeowner may be liable for damages caused to others. This article will discuss liability for injuries caused by the family dog, and premises liability issues. These are common situations that arise for homeowners.
  • Your Home And The Law: Part Iilawtoncates.com/blog/your-home-and-the-law-part-ii Buying a home is one of the most important economic decisions most people make. For most of us, our home is our biggest asset and our largest expense. Home ownership is part of the American dream, and it is a goal many of us strive to achieve. What happens when the house of your dreams turns out to be a money pit with mold problems or structural defects?
  • Your Home And The Law Part Ilawtoncates.com/blog/your-home-and-the-law-part-i There are a number of legal issues involved in home ownership. Over the next several weeks I will explore a few of them and how they impact home builders, home buyers, and home owners. I will explain the economic loss doctrine and how it affects anyone who builds a house. I will discuss remedies for home buyers who were led astray by realtors or sellers. Finally, I will survey liability issues for homeowners.
  • You Were Just Arrested For Drunk Driving, Now What?lawtoncates.com/blog/you-were-just-arrested-for-drunk-driving-now-what If you or a loved one were recently arrested for drunk driving it is imperative that you take prompt action to protect yourself throughout this difficult process. If you are fortunate enough to read this before anyone has been arrested then I encourage you to read our blog about Common Misconceptions in Drunk Driving Cases for additional pre-arrest information. Although specific legal recommendations depend on the particular facts of any given scenario, below are some general guidelines that will assist you no matter your particular situation. By following the steps below, you will go a long way towards minimizing the impact the arrest may have on your life.
  • What To Do When You Are Asked To Sign A Severance Agreementlawtoncates.com/blog/wrongful-termination-and-discrimination Attorney Dan Lenz discusses the fact that businesses are still downsizing and often offer employees severance agreements. He informs how these agreements often include a requirement to waive your right to pursue a discrimination complaint. It is important to discuss your rights with an attorney before signing a severance agreement.
  • Wisconsin's Motorcycle Helmet Lawlawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsins-motorcycle-helmet-law Learn about Wisconsin's motorcycle helmet law - what is required and what is not - through this blog. Information about fines for not complying with this law is also covered.
  • Wisconsin's Lemon Law Covers Wisconsin Purchased Or Delivered New Vehicleslawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsins-lemon-law-covers-wisconsin-purchased-or-delivered-new-vehicles Published: October 14, 2019 By Attorney Terry Polich, Lawton & Cates, S.C.
  • Wisconsin’s Texting Law Not Enoughlawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin2019s-texting-law-not-enough Wisconsin passed a law that prohibits texting while driving. The law prohibits sending or composing text messages while driving, but not reading them. The law imposes as modest fine for a violation of the law. The fine may be as low as $20.00. One would think the legislature could do better than that for an activity that is more dangerous than driving drunk. Under the new law, a person can read all the text messages they want, and if they get caught texting, they get fined the cost of a movie and popcorn. The governor has indicated he is excited about the law and will sign it.
  • Wisconsin Open Personal Recordslawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin-open-personal-records Attorney Daniel Lenz blogs about the Wisconsin Open Personal Records Law. This law has some details to it that are important for both employees and employers to know.
  • Federal Court Decides On Two Cases In Favor Of Deblawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin-lawyer-magazine-names-two-federal-court-decisions-in-cases-brought-by-lawton--cates-allowing-debtors-to-sue-debt-collectors-who-improperly-sue-to-collect-credit-card-debts-as-among-the-most-important-of-2019 Wisconsin Lawyer magazine names two federal court decisions in cases brought by Lawton & Cates, allowing debtors to sue debt collectors who improperly sue to collect credit card debts, as among the most important of 2019
  • Wisconsin Consumers Score Victory Against Internet Payday Lenderlawtoncates.com/blog/wisconsin-consumers-score-victory-against-internet-payday-lender 1300 Wisconsin consumers who entered into loan contracts with Arrowhead Investments, Inc. from December 21, 2001 through December 21, 2007 stand to receive relief in the form of loan forgiveness in a settlement agreement approved in Dane County Circuit Court on Wednesday, July 29, 2009. Pursuant to the settlement agreement, Arrowhead Investments, Inc. has also agreed that it will not conduct business for the next five years in the State of Wisconsin.
  • Wills And Estate Planninglawtoncates.com/blog/wills-and-estate-planning This blog is the first in a series of blog posts regarding estate planning. An estate plan is a comprehensive plan that provides for the distribution of property at your death. An estate plan can also provide a plan on how to handle health care and financial decisions if you are incapacitated and who should make these decisions. A will can be the main dispositive document in an estate plan or the one component in the plan. A will allows individuals to determine how their property will be distributed at the time of their death.
  • Why You Should Never Enter A Guilty Plea At Your First Court Datelawtoncates.com/blog/why-you-should-never-enter-a-guilty-plea-at-your-first-court-date Published: March 06, 2019 Attorney David Stegall explains why you should never enter a guilty plea at your first court date.
  • Why Is Your Immigration Case Taking So Long?lawtoncates.com/blog/why-is-your-immigration-case-taking-so-long Published: May 11, 2019 USCIS Processing Delays Have Now Hit Crisis Levels
  • When Your New Car Is Constantly In The Shop: Practical Legal Tipslawtoncates.com/blog/when-your-new-car-is-constantly-in-the-shop-practical-legal-tips Published: February 17, 2020 By Attorney Terrence Polich
  • What You Need To Know If Your Dog Bites Someonelawtoncates.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-if-your-dog-bites-someone Attorney David Stegall blogs about what you should do if your dog bites someone. This is vital information for any one who owns or is thinking about getting a dog. He also talks about some ways that you, as a dog owner, can prevent your dog from biting someone.